Down Syndrome, Family Guy, and Andrea Friedman

On a recent Valentines Day episode of Family Guy, one of the main characters is shown dating a girl named Ellen, a young lady with Down syndrome. During this date, Ellen is asked what her parents do. Ellen responds, “My dad’s an accountant, and my mom is the former governor of Alaska.” Former governor of Alaska (who’s son Trig was born with Down syndrome), Sarah Palin, responds to this episode of Family Guy by calling it “another kick in the gut”. However, Andrea Friedman, who was born with Down syndrome and was the voice actor for Ellen on Family Guy, has something else to say. Ellen’s response (taken from Palingates), is highlighted below:

My name is Andrea Fay Friedman. I was born with Down syndrome. I played the role of Ellen on the “Extra Large Medium” episode of Family Guy that was broadcast on Valentine’s day. Although they gave me red hair on the show, I am really a blonde. I also wore a red wig for my role in “Smudge” but I was a blonde in “Life Goes On”. I guess former Governor Palin does not have a sense of humor. I thought the line “I am the daughter of the former governor of Alaska” was very funny. I think the word is “sarcasm”.

In my family we think laughing is good. My parents raised me to have a sense of humor and to live a normal life. My mother did not carry me around under her arm like a loaf of French bread the way former Governor Palin carries her son Trig around looking for sympathy and votes.

Personally, I’m not inclined on commenting on either side of the story, but what I would like to highlight is Andrea Friedman’s remarkable courage, and her ability to overcome obstacles. I’m not blogging on this topic to emphasize the controversy, but to bring light to Andrea’s significant accomplishments and her perseverance in the face of difficulties. Andrea speaks on this, and her episode on Family Guy below:

I appreciate how Andrea takes the time to carefully think of her answers before speaking. It’s an emotional topic for her, and you can definitely tell from her YouTube video. If you’d like some more information on Andrea, you can visit her IMDB page, which has a lists of all the movies and shows she’s played a role in. In 2003, she was even nominated for an Emmy Award. What an amazing young lady!

Leave a Reply

