Blogathon: What Year Is It?

More for the blogathon.

So I was reading up on Developmental Disabilities news recently and I came across this http://www.pro8news.com/news/local/50906032.html (compliments of Google News) last week, and today when I was blogging, I remembered it.

I was a little shocked to read this. I mean, I’m not surprised that there is discrimination still, but to beat up a person with disabilities (heck, having a disability…that’s a sidenote)? I don’t even know where to begin. And this is a teen/child we’re talking about. I don’t mean to judge, and the purpose of this entry is not to judge, but to show just how people still react to people with developmentally disabled people. I mean, I read this and my mouth went dry. And in addition, isn’t violent discrimination a bit outdated? I thought we had reached a point in time where people would be civilized because they are more knowledgeable about…well…everything!

I take the bus to and from work every day. I notice a lot of people with Down Syndrome also take the bus. They’ve never been rude, and even if they’re not especially polite (which is rare cause usually they are the few most polite ones), they definitely do not go out of their way to bother anyone. Unless sitting in a seat is offensive at any given point in time, they’re just like any other passenger if not better. Regardless of the situation, why would you resort to violence? I have no more words.

Has anyone else read any similar stories in the news?

Next Post: Asking For Money? Is That Legal?

Leave a Reply

