Blogathon: Ways to Fundraise

From this blog onwards I will not specify it is for blogathon cause I realized I’ve already selected the category and the tag!

Ok so this entry is not about teaching you how to fundraise. I wish I had that knowledge to share with you, but alas that fountain is not mine to own. However, I do want to discuss what works, what is considered innovative, what we can do in the future of fundraising, and what doesn’t work (sadly).

I can only provide comments on what I think doesn’t work. I’d love some input on this though (what works, what should be coming…).

What I think doesn’t work:

  • random parties with high overhead costs and no real purpose
  • selling frivolous items
  • funless activities
  • what everyone else is doing (seriously, how many of the same event for different organizations can one attend)
  • forcing people to donate to your fundraiser (it may force them to be a one-time-only supporter)

I always hear this at the office. “What’s fun? What can we do that’s fun?” I’d like to know as well.  The blogathon is pretty cool. I mean, I would love to be able to fundraise more via the blogathon, but it’s definitely keeping with the times, and that’s what I appreciate most about it. So what other things can we do to leverage technology and fundraise, while keeping things fun and supporters happy?

More on this later…

Remember, you can support us here (only takes a few seconds to sign up).

Next Post: Random Item

Leave a Reply

