Blogathon: My Life at DDA So Far Part 1

You know the cliche, “time flies when you’re having fun.”

Turns out, just like that, I’m now nearing my tenth month here at the Developmental Disabilities Association (DDA).  You know, all this time, I’ve been b logging about how people are discriminating and don’t understand developmental disabilities, but I have a confession to make. Before working at the DDA, I wasn’t sure I understood what developmental disabilities were either. I knew a little bit of Down Syndrome, Autism Spectrum Disorder, Asperger’s and so on because I’ve always been to an inclusive school that had integrated classes, but I didn’t know about them, if that makes sense. It was only when I took on this position that I bothered to look into these developmental disabilities. In fact, I was surprised with how friendly and awesome a lot of our clients are.

I’m learning a lot at my post, and talking to people I never would have dreamed of talking to (including Miss Vancouver, Tracy Chand!). Both the clients and the staff are super friendly and fun.  And I know, through doing our newsletter, The Star, that there is still a lot more to be learned about developmental disabilities, as well as our programs and services.  This has been a great journey so far.

In a later post, I’ll talk about specific events I’ve attended and how those have helped me become more knowledgeable in this field.

Please sponsor us for our blogathon.

Up Next: My Life at DDA So Far Part 2

Leave a Reply

